Nigerian, Kenyan Elected President, Secretary General of APRA

Mr. Yomi Badejo-Okusanya, a strategic communications expert and PR practitioner was, on Friday May 27, 2016 elected President of Africa Public Relations Association (APRA), the continent’s Public Relations professional regulatory body.

The election, conducted by the Governing Council of APRA, also saw Mrs. Jane Gitau of Kenya emerged as Secretary General. It climaxed activities marking the 28th edition of APRA International Conference tagged APRA Calabar 2016.

The new APRA Executive was immediately inaugurated by the Council led by the outgoing President Mr. Peter Mutie from Kenya, and witnessed by Ms. Christina Chima, outgoing Vice President from Zimbabwe; Mr. Bart de Vries, President of the International Public Relations Association (IPRA); and delegates from various part of the continent also witnessed the transition.

According to Mutie, other committee’s positions zoned to other regions in the continent will be made public at a later date. The executive committee will serve for two years with a maximum of two terms.

The new President, Yomi Badejo-Okusanya is a known name in the practice and development of the public relations profession in Nigeria and in Africa. Prior to his emergence as President, he was the Secretary General of APRA. He is a Fellow of the Nigerian Institute of Public Relations (NIPR) and past Chairman, NIPR, Lagos State Chapter.

YBO as he is fondly called by friends and associates had also served on the council of NIPR at national level. He is a consummate public relations practitioner and Chairman/Chief Executive Officer of one of Nigeria’s foremost and largest strategic communications firms, CMC Connect Group. He has over two decades of work experience in integrated marketing communications coupled with the edge of pioneering perception management business in the Nigeria’s communications market. He twice emerged PR Personality of the year (NIPR Golden Eagle Award, 2010, 2011).

On the other hand, the Secretary General, Jane Gitau is currently the President of Public Relations Society of Kenya (PRSK). She has built a strong professional and academic career in the field of communications with special emphasis in communications strategy development, public relations, writing and editing.

In November 2015, under her leadership, the Public Relations Society of Kenya (PRSK) successfully delivered over 800 delegates to the first ever World Conference on Communications and Public Relations in Emerging Economies (WCPREE) in Nairobi, Kenya. Jane is a recipient of the prestigious Chevening Scholarship awarded by the British Government to talented scholars.

APRA, formerly known as the Federation for African Public Relations (FAPRA) is a non-government, non-political, non-profit making professional association, established to foster unity, via interaction and exchange of ideas amongst public relations practitioners in Africa.

Leave a Reply